Tennessee Preservation Trust

Landmarks and State Markers:

National Register of Historic Places

Andrew Johnson Home The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation’s historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service’s National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America’s historic and archeological resources.

To view the 2,012 Tennessee properties listed on the National Register or to find a property, visit the National Park Service’s searchable database.

National Historic Landmarks

Franklin Battlefield… Chucalissa… Fisk University’s Jubilee Hall… Moccasin Bend Archeological District…

Blount MansionWhat do these sites have in common? They are as much a part of Tennessee’s story as they are to the nation as a whole. Designated by the National Park Service as National Historic Landmarks, these sites possess exceptional value or quality in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the U.S. According to NPS, fewer than 2,500 historic places bear this national distinction. There are 30 National Historic Landmarks located within Tennessee.


State Historical Markers

Cairo Rosenwald School, Marker 3B 62 The State of Tennessee recognizes sites important to Tennessee’s history. Historical markers commemorate significant people, places, and events in the history of any given particular area. There are almost 2,000 markers all across Tennessee indicating the many various important moments in the state’s history. The Tennessee Historical Commission facilitates the program that places these markers around the state. Since the program began in the 1950s, THC has diligently worked to erect markers every year.

Learn more about this program and the criteria for historical markers.